Me, the person

I’m currently 25 years old. I’m married to one of the first men I met at college; he and I ran into each other four or five times during that first week of college where every night is some big social thing to help freshmen adjust to the university. We eventually started talking because I was sitting in the laundry room (to protect my clothes from panty raiders) and I was reading a book on Buddhist philosophy/religion. We had a few casual dates before splitting off and dating other people. About a year later, after we had both ended relationships with other people, we came back together (summer 2004). On September 11th, 2006, he proposed to me and on June 11th, 2007, we eloped.

I hold a Bachelor’s in Creative Writing and am working towards my Master’s. Whenever people hear that I’m an English major, their immediate response is, “Oh, so you’re going to teach?” I’ve been asked that so much that I no longer cringe when I hear that question. I guess people don’t realize how many career paths draw upon the English degree (here’s a site that has a huge list of examples).  I’ve always been interested in technical writing, which works because I also hold several certificates in IT-related things. Unfortunately, most tech writing positions assume that you already have years of tech writing experience, so … yeah. Bleh.

I work in the Rare Books/Archives department at a university library. We take in so many different types of collections: a person’s personal papers (diary, memoirs, self-published books, genealogy, etc.), a person’s professional papers (signed manuscripts, speeches, resume/CV, etc.) and business records. We also take in maps of the area (our oldest map is from the 1500s and is in full color), paintings of the area or by local artists and other neat things that capture this area.

After many years of figuring out myself and my beliefs, I have decided that traditional organized religions don’t work for me. I was raised Catholic: went to a private Catholic school, went to church all the time, etc. However, I was displeased at how my church handled questions. I once asked a question about the authority of a parent versus the authority of God/Jesus/Mary (etc.) over a child’s life. The answer was to have faith. That doesn’t sound too bad, but the answer continued: I had to have faith that what the Catholic priest said was true; not the words of the Bible, not what other people in the church said, and not how I interpreted the Bible. And I didn’t like that. I consider myself a very intelligent person and the concept of blindly accepting what one person says just strikes me as wrong. It flies in the face of everything I’ve ever learned about critical thinking. That experience showed me how I approached religion (i.e., it accepts my questions and readily answers them in a logical manner) and that Catholicism would not allow me to exercise that approach. Since I also believe that religion is a highly personal thing, I made the decision to leave the Catholic church and pursue a religion that supported what I wanted out of religion. I found that in Buddhism. One of the best books I’ve ever read was The Tibetan Book of Living and Dying.

I’ve dealt with a lot of medical crap the past few years, which I’ll cover in another post.

Oh, yeah. Sometimes, I’m funny. It’s usually a very dry or sarcastic funny.

Weird, random fact: when I’m extremely tired, my humor degenerates to random, loopy things AND I become very cold, temperature wise.

Also, WordPress is messing up the time. I’ll fix it. It’s fixed.

~ by aevorea on 2010/04/08.

Leave a Reply

 
