Alone – NSFW Language

Home alone. DH out of town dealing with the legal trial related to a car accident that happened 7-10 years ago (lawsuit filed the summer before the statute of limitations would have been up, so it’s still a viable suit). Only problem is that DH was only supposed to be there the last day of the three day trial (since he was a minor at the time), which worked perfectly because his new job (acquired after over a year of unemployment) has him scheduled for Wednesdays off.

We get a call this morning, 10AMish: “You’re due in court today at 1:30. Wear a suit.” Yes, because we have so many suits lying around, clean and dry-cleaned and ready to be worn. And because we have nothing better to do than sit around waiting for the damned judge to decide, at the last minute, that all parties and all parties’ parties had to be present the entire fucking time. Seriously. All that happened today was jury selection. No deliberation at all. Why the fuck did he have to miss work for that and risk losing his job for taking time off so early in his employment?

Let’s see … sexually harassed/discriminated by a patron. BOSS, the one who’s taken HR classes in preventing that, chose to laugh instead. Laughing is not the appropriate response to a hormonal, crampy woman whose major pet peeve is being told that she’s too stupid to do anything.

Been waiting for an email from the HR of my new job for the background check & drug test instructions. I was so worried because when I had signed up (you were given 72 hours to sign an agreement form to take them – I guess maybe to give people time to decide if they really wanted to accept the job offer? Whatever), our internet connection was intermittent at best. I was worried that my application/acceptance had timed out server side and that I hadn’t received the HR email because of that. Thankfully, it showed up in my email inbox about 30 minutes ago. Thank god. After this morning’s incident with the patron, I want nothing more to do with my current employment and didn’t want a broken email connection to prevent me from moving from one job to another. I mean, DH and I have dealt with living on one income, but that was forced upon us and we agreed that we never wanted to do that again (at least, not a one income at its current level, which isn’t much).

Took my desire to get more exercise, just to appease the doctors who are convinced my weight gain is due to lack of activity (3o minute walks + 30 minutes pilates a day, people…), a little too far. It was raining so hard that the sidewalks were swimming in lake-like puddles. Me, in sandals, decided to go walking anyway. Plus side: I got some extra exercise in. Minus side – my feet were freezing cold the rest of the day and my shoes have acquired an annoying squeak.

So, shitty day combined with horrid, crippling cramps and the fear that I would never escape my current shithole of a job => one nice, long panic attack.

Everything should be getting better, though. ROOMMATE will be coming home shortly from work so at least I’ll have someone to tell me to shut-up over my worries. 🙂

OH. And nothing helps a bad day better than having a sweet kitty cuddle against you, resting his head on your collarbone, and purring in your ear.

Sweet kitty

Pictured not cuddling but rather telling me to get off the computer and stop worrying!

~ by aevorea on 2010/05/03.

Leave a Reply

 
